Michigan Hit-and-Run Accidents: What Happens If a Driver Flees?
April 18th, 2023
Many people who are involved in car accidents flee the scene. Some flee because they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Others may have an outstanding warrant for their arrest, are driving without insurance, or are simply young and inexperienced drivers who are scared and don’t know better.
Regardless of the cause, leaving the scene of an accident isn’t just aggravating—it’s also illegal. Fortunately, Michigan law will protect you if someone flees the scene of an accident. The personal injury lawyers at Muth Law, P.C. can help identify the other driver and hold them accountable. And even if we cannot identify the other driver or if they do not have insurance, we can still help you obtain the compensation you deserve.
Hit-and-Run: Leaving the Scene of an Accident Is a Crime
Michigan law requires that drivers involved in a car accident must stop and exchange information with the other people involved. They must also offer assistance to anyone who was injured. Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime and could lead to severe criminal penalties, including up to 90 days in jail, fines of up to $100, and a driver’s license suspension.
What To Do If You Were Injured in a Hit-and-Run Accident?
If you were hurt in a hit-and-run accident, your first instinct might be to try to chase down the other driver. But doing so could put you in danger. People who flee the scene of an accident might be intoxicated, have a criminal record, or be driving a stolen vehicle. Whatever the reason for fleeing the scene of an accident, the other driver clearly does not want to be caught. Chasing them will only put you at greater risk.
Call 9-1-1- and Make a Police Report
If you were seriously injured, call 9-1-1 and request an ambulance. You should also ask that a police officer be dispatched to the scene so they can make a police report and try to identify the other driver.
Try to remember as much as you can about the other vehicle and its driver. It can be helpful if you can remember the make and model of the vehicle, the license plate, and a description of the driver. One suggestion is to use your cell phone to record a voice memo describing as many details as you can about the crash.
The police will evaluate the scene of the crash and complete a police report. The police report will be a critical piece of information, as it will prove that the crash occurred. Be sure to ask the police officer for their name, badge number, and telephone number so you can follow up on the investigation.
Seek Medical Attention
Even if you think your injuries were minor, you should still seek medical attention after a car crash. Injuries after a car crash can take hours or even days to appear. A doctor will review your medical condition and document any injuries you suffered. And if the injuries take a few days to appear, you can return to the doctor for additional treatment.
Contact a Lawyer
Obtaining compensation after a hit-and-run accident poses unique challenges. The personal injury lawyers at Muth Law have extensive experience representing people who were hurt in hit-and-run accidents. We will work to identify the other driver and fight for the compensation you deserve. And if we are unable to identify the other driver, we can seek compensation through your own insurance company by filing a claim under your uninsured motorist coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage Provides Compensation After a Hit-and-Run Accident
Most uninsured motorist insurance policies cover collisions involving unidentified drivers. When the other driver in a hit-and-run cannot be identified, they are deemed to be an uninsured driver, and you can submit a claim for uninsured motorist benefits through your own insurance carrier.
Muth Law will analyze your situation and the extent of your injuries to determine the compensation you are entitled to receive. We will provide your insurance company with documentation of your injuries to establish the extent of your damages, and we will negotiate with them to arrive at a full and fair settlement.
Muth Law Protects Your Rights When Another Driver Leaves the Scene of an Accident
Recovering financial compensation after a hit-and-run accident can feel like an uphill battle. But you don’t have to go it alone. Muth Law will explain the insurance coverage available and fight to recover full and fair compensation for your injuries.
We have decades of experience representing people in Michigan who were injured in hit-and-run accidents. We know how to present your claim to maximize your financial recovery, and we know what is fair.
Learn more about us and the people we represent, then contact us today to schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss your situation and how we can help. Call us anytime at 743-481-8800, email us at email@example.com, or complete our contact form to schedule a free case evaluation.
Muth Law is based in Ann Arbor and proudly represents injured people throughout Michigan.
Categories: Auto Accidents